The blue moon – III

She stood at the doorway
Of life and eternal sleep
And asked me if I would follow

Her face shone through the shimmering glass
That hides the souls that leave us
The souls we have lost and mourn

I looked back and down on creation
The vast, cosmic drama unfolding
Surrounding, suffocating, the Grand Architect laughing

Faintly I hear the cries of the damned
Echoing off of the walls of the world
Threatening to break through in a crescendo

The cries echo inside me now
I see the souls being ripped apart
The inferno takes them, they are gone

I look at her; the glass is broken
Shattered with a scar running into the abyss
I reach out to her; her screams are dying

The gods of fear hold me back
I look into their eyes, fires burning
The flames dance in mischief and terror

I close my eyes and see her face
And call her name, the gods have heard
They hear my heart, know my name

I reach out and touch the glass
But it is gone, a vast film of water
Cleansing my sinful hands, I open my eyes

She stood at the doorway
Of heaven and eternal fire
And asked me if I would follow.

Leave a Reply

